Culture

A Sense of Place

Finding permanence in a changing landscape

Dawn Nelson
3 min readJul 24, 2023

--

The Sunday Dispatch ~ July 23, 2023

A blissful capture of a street corner into something beautiful and inviting. Photo by author, © Dawn Nelson.

As I round the corner, I am embraced by the inviting ambience of a patio garden. It is almost as if this space appeared by magic. The last time I walked by, it was an apothecary. Now it is something else altogether, much to my delight.

I quickly learned that this space is only temporary while there is still construction on that block. Since the sidewalk is closed on the one side, this patio garden corner is possible — for now.

This is a space for emotional alchemy.

I envision a few early evenings here in the near future, enjoying the warm presence of the flowers and plants while writing song lyrics.

I have been watching certain developments on the north side of my town and marveling at the aesthetic differences. I like to notice how things change over time. There is beauty in this constant transformation.

One of the developments is an old brownfield site that will, when complete, host some open green space along with a mix of commercial and residential buildings. Right now, it is just bare earth. I spend time watching the earth moving machines change the landscape. I can see the river now from…

--

--

Dawn Nelson

Artist, writer, strategist ~ writing creative nonfiction, memoir, essay. WIP: 0100 Series & The Sunday Dispatch.